Skip to content
St AsaphCountsSt Asaph, in numbers.Local help →

St Asaph · Wales

Community life

Denbighshire council area. Every figure carries its own date.

A place is more than its average house price. The census shows who lives here and some of the pressures households face.

People aged 65 or over

24.8%

21 March 2021 · Denbighshire

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

All usual residents

23,747 out of 95,817.

Source and method →

People reporting bad or very bad health

7.1%

21 March 2021 · Denbighshire

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

6,827 out of 95,817.

Source and method →

Households facing at least one measured disadvantage

55.2%

21 March 2021 · Denbighshire

The census checks education, employment, health and housing. This is not a measure of income or poverty.

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

All households

23,395 out of 42,387.

Source and method →

Households facing two or more measured disadvantages

20.8%

21 March 2021 · Denbighshire

The census checks education, employment, health and housing. This is not a measure of income or poverty.

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

All households

8,816 out of 42,387.

Source and method →

People aged 16+ with no qualifications

19.9%

21 March 2021 · Denbighshire

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Residents aged 16 and over

15,668 out of 78,908.

Source and method →

People aged 16+ with a degree or equivalent

30.4%

21 March 2021 · Denbighshire

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Residents aged 16 and over

24,010 out of 78,908.

Source and method →

Different needs within the area

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.6% to 11.9%

People reporting bad or very bad health ranged from 3.6% in Tremeirchion to 11.9% in Rhyl West — a gap of 8.3 percentage points.

21 March 2021 · 29 of 29 current wards with comparable figures.

Residents described their own health. Differences in age matter, so this is a prompt to investigate needs, not a score for local health services.

See each ward and the workings

These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.

People reporting bad or very bad health · 21 March 2021
WardShareCountPopulation or households covered
Tremeirchion3.6%601,655
Alyn Valley3.7%631,685
Efenechdyd3.9%641,633
Moel Famau4%882,210
Denbigh Lower4%1824,520
Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd Gwyddelwern4.4%1012,308
Llandyrnog4.6%1032,238
Edeirnion4.7%1633,455
Ruthin4.9%2795,699
Llanrhaeadr-yng-Nghinmeirch4.9%881,797
Bodelwyddan5.8%1212,092
St Asaph East5.9%1081,845
Rhuddlan6.1%2303,791
Trefnant6.1%1111,814
Rhyl Tŷ Newydd6.7%2804,203
Dyserth6.7%1562,331
Llangollen6.9%2764,029
Prestatyn Meliden6.9%1392,002
Prestatyn Central7.3%2563,494
Prestatyn South West7.6%2893,805
Denbigh Caledfryn Henllan7.6%3815,003
Rhyl Trellewelyn7.6%3214,199
St Asaph West8%1311,637
Prestatyn East8.8%3443,918
Rhyl South9.4%3253,456
Rhyl South West9.4%5255,567
Prestatyn North9.6%5625,861
Rhyl East10.8%5014,651
Rhyl West11.9%5844,914
Source and method →
What could respond to this pattern →

People aged 65 or over

13.1% to 34.8%

People aged 65 or over ranged from 13.1% in Rhyl West to 34.8% in Rhyl East — a gap of 21.7 percentage points.

21 March 2021 · 29 of 29 current wards with comparable figures.

Age helps locate demand for accessible homes, transport and support. Being older does not itself mean someone needs care.

See each ward and the workings

These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.

People aged 65 or over · 21 March 2021
WardShareCountPopulation or households covered
Rhyl West13.1%6424,912
Rhyl South West13.5%7525,568
Rhyl Trellewelyn17.2%7224,199
Denbigh Caledfryn Henllan19.3%9685,003
Bodelwyddan20.4%4262,093
Rhyl Tŷ Newydd21.5%9054,203
Llandyrnog22.5%5032,239
Efenechdyd23%3751,633
Denbigh Lower23.8%1,0754,522
Dyserth23.9%5572,326
Prestatyn Meliden24.2%4832,000
Ruthin24.8%1,4155,701
St Asaph West25%4101,641
Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd Gwyddelwern25.3%5842,307
Edeirnion25.9%8953,457
Tremeirchion26.4%4371,655
Prestatyn Central26.9%9423,496
Prestatyn East27.1%1,0633,924
St Asaph East27.3%5041,843
Prestatyn South West27.7%1,0553,804
Alyn Valley28.2%4761,685
Llanrhaeadr-yng-Nghinmeirch28.4%5111,797
Rhuddlan28.9%1,0963,791
Llangollen29%1,1694,028
Moel Famau29.2%6452,211
Prestatyn North31.1%1,8215,861
Rhyl South31.9%1,1033,458
Trefnant33%6001,818
Rhyl East34.8%1,6194,654
Source and method →
What could respond to this pattern →

People aged 16+ with no qualifications

11.8% to 32.7%

People aged 16+ with no qualifications ranged from 11.8% in Moel Famau to 32.7% in Rhyl West — a gap of 20.9 percentage points.

21 March 2021 · 29 of 29 current wards with comparable figures.

Formal qualifications are only one part of someone's skills. Training decisions also need current vacancies, employment and residents' experience.

See each ward and the workings

These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.

People aged 16+ with no qualifications · 21 March 2021
WardShareCountPopulation or households covered
Moel Famau11.8%2261,909
Tremeirchion12.8%1781,394
Alyn Valley13.8%2001,447
Denbigh Lower14%5183,704
Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd Gwyddelwern14.7%2801,902
Efenechdyd14.8%1981,342
Ruthin15.1%7074,696
Llanrhaeadr-yng-Nghinmeirch15.8%2411,522
Dyserth16.2%3151,945
Rhyl Tŷ Newydd16.4%5663,461
Llangollen16.4%5713,477
Llandyrnog16.7%3121,870
St Asaph East17.2%2671,554
Bodelwyddan17.7%3071,734
Prestatyn East18%5983,316
Rhuddlan18.2%5873,219
Prestatyn Meliden18.8%3041,615
Prestatyn Central18.9%5472,895
Prestatyn South West20.4%6423,143
Rhyl Trellewelyn21.1%6753,201
Edeirnion21.3%6132,874
Denbigh Caledfryn Henllan21.5%8654,032
Trefnant21.7%3471,596
Rhyl South22.5%6592,928
St Asaph West23.7%3281,382
Prestatyn North24.1%1,1884,923
Rhyl East27%1,0733,981
Rhyl South West27.5%1,1274,092
Rhyl West32.7%1,2303,761
Source and method →
What could respond to this pattern →

Households facing two or more measured disadvantages

10.1% to 44.2%

Households facing two or more measured disadvantages ranged from 10.1% in Moel Famau to 44.2% in Rhyl West — a gap of 34.1 percentage points.

21 March 2021 · 29 of 29 current wards with comparable figures.

These households met at least two census conditions covering education, employment, health and housing. This is not an income or poverty measure.

See each ward and the workings

These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.

Households facing two or more measured disadvantages · 21 March 2021
WardShareCountPopulation or households covered
Moel Famau10.1%100988
Llanrhaeadr-yng-Nghinmeirch10.9%84769
Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd Gwyddelwern11.2%110978
Llandyrnog11.2%100889
Tremeirchion11.7%82698
Alyn Valley12%88731
Efenechdyd12.3%82667
Denbigh Lower12.9%2501,939
Trefnant13.2%104789
St Asaph East13.7%115840
Llangollen15.7%3001,906
Edeirnion16%2471,545
Ruthin16.2%4252,628
Rhyl Tŷ Newydd16.6%3051,839
Bodelwyddan16.9%147868
Rhuddlan17.3%3111,797
Dyserth19.2%1921,002
Prestatyn Meliden21%185883
Prestatyn Central21.1%3261,545
Prestatyn South West21.1%3831,811
Prestatyn East22%3711,687
Rhyl South22.6%3801,684
Rhyl Trellewelyn23.7%4081,723
St Asaph West24.6%179729
Prestatyn North24.6%6682,714
Denbigh Caledfryn Henllan25.1%5632,245
Rhyl East27.1%5642,081
Rhyl South West34.9%7572,168
Rhyl West44.2%9902,241
Source and method →
What could respond to this pattern →

Local places and initiatives

Green Gates, near St Asaph Business Park

Green Gates Nature Reserve

New habitats and paths provide a place for nature and outdoor recreation near St Asaph Business Park.

Council reports project complete · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Denbighshire County Council

Latest evidence: The council labels the project complete and gives a final summary through March 2025. Conflicting area descriptions on the page are not repeated as a verified size.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
No official project-to-ward mapping has been verified; no ward allocation is inferred from the city name.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

UKSPF project: Green Gates Nature Reserve →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Connect Green Gates to everyday walking and wheeling routes →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

St Asaph; part of a wider Denbighshire programme

St Asaph walking and cycling network plans

Published maps identify existing suitable routes and possible improvements; residents can help identify missing connections.

Network plan and consultation; individual works not confirmed · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Denbighshire County Council

Latest evidence: The council provides separate existing-route and proposed-network maps for St Asaph. A route on a future network map is not evidence of construction or funding.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
No official project-to-ward mapping has been verified; no ward allocation is inferred from the city name.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Active Travel →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Connect Green Gates to everyday walking and wheeling routes →

Plan homes and care around an older population →

Bring support closer to people in poor health →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

A525 The Roe, St Asaph, southbound from Rhuddlan

The Roe resurfacing and overnight diversions

Resurfacing on The Roe was scheduled to start on 11 October 2026, with overnight southbound closures for about a week. The schedule is not proof that work is finished.

October 2026 works schedule published; actual completion not verified · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Denbighshire County Council

Latest evidence: The October council update gives planned working hours of 7pm to 6am and an expected duration of around a week. It describes a southbound closure and diversions, rather than a permanent road closure.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
No verified current ward footprint is assigned. The named site or council-wide remit is not proof of benefits to every ward.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Road improvement work to begin at St Asaph route →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Keep homes and businesses reachable during road repairs →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Look beneath the area average →