Skip to content
St Asaph Counts — St Asaph, in numbers.Local help →

St Asaph · Wales

People and living standards

Denbighshire council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Denbighshire

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Denbighshire local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 89,395 in 1991 to 98,247 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Denbighshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 90,623 people in 1996; 98,247 people in 2025. 8.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Denbighshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199189,395
199289,119
199389,375
199489,572
199589,911
199690,623
199790,616
199890,951
199991,509
200092,525
200193,070
200293,478
200393,872
200494,010
200593,978
200693,983
200794,530
200894,739
200994,444
201094,152
201193,919
201294,119
201394,378
201494,670
201594,691
201694,723
201794,597
201894,596
201994,766
202095,558
202196,047
202296,531
202397,235
202497,868
202598,247
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Denbighshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 17,675 people in 1996; 16,798 people in 2025. 5% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Denbighshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199117,066
199217,051
199317,259
199417,450
199517,501
199617,675
199717,722
199817,809
199918,100
200018,356
200118,282
200218,297
200318,151
200417,971
200517,771
200617,578
200717,468
200817,391
200917,170
201017,007
201117,020
201216,951
201316,997
201417,122
201517,094
201617,105
201717,085
201817,068
201917,027
202017,030
202116,919
202216,991
202316,981
202416,990
202516,798
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Denbighshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 53,826 people in 1996; 56,309 people in 2025. 4.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Denbighshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199152,973
199252,759
199352,840
199452,966
199553,196
199653,826
199753,882
199854,275
199954,646
200055,391
200155,957
200256,270
200356,701
200456,966
200557,112
200657,245
200757,801
200857,937
200957,724
201057,437
201157,044
201256,582
201356,164
201455,795
201555,489
201655,190
201754,877
201854,632
201954,572
202054,871
202155,243
202255,429
202355,847
202456,171
202556,309
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Denbighshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 19,122 people in 1996; 25,140 people in 2025. 31.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Denbighshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,356
199219,309
199319,276
199419,156
199519,214
199619,122
199719,012
199818,867
199918,763
200018,778
200118,831
200218,911
200319,020
200419,073
200519,095
200619,160
200719,261
200819,411
200919,550
201019,708
201119,855
201220,586
201321,217
201421,753
201522,108
201622,428
201722,635
201822,896
201923,167
202023,657
202123,885
202224,111
202324,407
202424,707
202525,140
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 95,820 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Denbighshire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,6501.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2680.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,0521.1%
White92,48896.5%
Other ethnic group3620.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 93,734 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Denbighshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White91,25497.4%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups7510.8%
Asian/Asian British1,4301.5%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1610.2%
Other ethnic group1380.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 93,065 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Denbighshire · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White91,99298.8%
Mixed4310.5%
Asian/Asian British3000.3%
Black/Black British1080.1%
Chinese/Other2340.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 16.7% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Denbighshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,015 per person in 1997; £21,623 per person in 2024. 115.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Denbighshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,015
199810,019
199910,146
200010,494
200110,957
200211,431
200311,679
200412,219
200512,732
200612,965
200713,360
200814,032
200913,971
201014,213
201114,661
201215,176
201315,448
201415,849
201516,371
201616,448
201716,974
201817,613
201917,669
202017,789
202118,457
202218,987
202320,246
202421,623
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Denbighshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -5.6% in 1997; -16.7% in 2024. 11.1 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Denbighshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-5.6
1998-7.5
1999-10.3
2000-11.8
2001-11.4
2002-9.6
2003-10.4
2004-10
2005-9.4
2006-11.5
2007-12.9
2008-10.9
2009-12.7
2010-12
2011-10
2012-10.1
2013-11.8
2014-12.4
2015-13.9
2016-14.6
2017-13.8
2018-13.7
2019-16.1
2020-15.2
2021-15.5
2022-17.3
2023-17.2
2024-16.7
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

20.8%

21 March 2021 · Denbighshire local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

19.9%

21 March 2021 · Denbighshire local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

7.1%

21 March 2021 · Denbighshire local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£201,000

July 2026 · Denbighshire local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£718

August 2026 · Denbighshire local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.